Tags

, , ,

Here we are at the beginning of 2017, resolutions abound, somewhat bright eyed (not too much, it was a late night) and poised for a new start. The chimes of Big Ben at midnight signify the out with the old and in with the new although I’m not quite ready to let go of last year just yet. I have had a great 2016. I started university and got engaged to a wonderful man, with whom I am planning the rest of my life with; two major life changing events. A lot of other amazing things happened last year big and small but too numerous to mention here. Can we really carry on the high of last year though? Don’t get me wrong, there were bumps in the road and always will be and that’s life but will the new year be just as exciting? Well I for one cannot wait to find out.

My resolutions for the New Year are to write everyday, start exercising and eating healthy. My fiancé and I have also decided to go teetotal for January. This one worry’s me the most as having a glass of chilled white wine at the start of every Friday evening is what I look forward to all week. Anyway, I digress. So far so good. Apart from the exercise, I can tick off the rest and I’m only half way through the day! Yoga is looking favourable as I don’t think I have to exert myself too much but we’ll see. I shall report back on this one.

Even though today is New Year’s day, I am itching to put the decorations away, chuck the tree outside and put the house back into some sort of order. I loved bringing all the old decorations down from the loft, ones the kids had made at school, buying new ones to add to the masses already acquired over the years. When the time comes to de-Christmas the house though, I can’t wait to box it all up again. I know the living room will look almost minimalist by comparison but I like to start the new year with a clean and tidy house, (well try to in any event). My youngest’s room however looks like the sales aisle at Toys R Us but that’s ok. He’s allowed. He turned eight on Christmas Day so he has double the amount of stuff than perhaps other eight year old’s received for Christmas. His is a room I can think about another day, possibly when dry January is complete. I will need a drink to contemplate tidying his room.

A happy and healthy new year to you all. I hope it brings you an abundance of happiness and that all of your dreams come true. I know mine did. I am excited about the chapters of my life that aren’t yet written. I hope you all are too.

Cheers

