Tags

, , , ,

Last Friday night I went out with an old school friend. It is the first time we have had a night out together since we left school, an astounding twenty-two years ago! We had seen each other intermittently over the years and know snippets of each others lives but had never had the chance to sit down with glass of vino and have a proper catch up.

drink in pub

It’s funny that as soon as we started talking, it was as though we had been transported back to when we were fifteen, getting ready to go out (the local park!) and listening to Erasure’s Blue Savannah album! I’ll never forget it. All we had to worry about back then was, did we have enough hairspray between us?

What became quite apparent as the evening went on was that she was of the same opinion as me about certain school mates. As an adult, when I look back at my school days, I remember those people who were bitchy and snooty but as a fifteen year old school girl, I didn’t tend to think that way. You seem to accept it almost or you don’t think too much of it. Now, as an adult I wouldn’t accept it!

Those I thought were bitchy, she did too. She said about one girl, “she always looked like she had a secret” and that seemed to hit the nail on the head!

The worst of it is for my old school friend, the snootiest of them all has moved into the same street, just a few doors down. She was the sort that if you had a headache, she had a brain tumour, if you were going to Spain for your hols, she was off to some tropical island in the South Pacific! You know the sort!!!

Anyway, I digress. God forbid, you walk out of your front door in the morning looking like a slob to put your recycling out and she would be jogging past, looking perfect and not out of breath with her snooty nose in the air!

SnootyLady_city01

Even so, we had a lovely night, reminiscing about old times and hopefully we won’t leave it another twenty-two years before we go out again.

