Tags

, , , , ,

For the past few months, I have been playing around with different recipes to find my signature cake. Something I could be really good at and was easy to make and delicious at the same time. Sounds easy, I hear you cry. Well, it was harder than you think.

After a few offerings ended up in the bin, I came across the BBC Good Food website. I went straight to the cake section looking for something to take my fancy. And there it was. Raspberry bakewell cake. I read through the recipe eagerly and hunted through my ingredient cupboard to make sure I had all the ingredients. I did. Here is the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 140g ground almonds
  • 140g butter, softened
  • 140g caster sugar
  • 140g self raising flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 250g raspberries
  • 2tbsp flaked almonds
  • icing sugar, to serve

Prep 10 mins Cook 50 mins

  1. Heat oven to 180C/160C fan/ gas 4 and base-line and grease a deep 20cm loose bottomed cake tin. Blitz the ground almonds, butter, sugar, flour, eggs, and vanilla extract in a food processor until well combined.
  2. Spread half the mix over the cake tin and smooth over the top. Scatter the raspberries over, then dollop the remaining cake mixture on top and roughly spread- you might find this easier to do with your fingers. Scatter with flaked almonds and bake for 50 mins until golden. Cool, remove from the tin and dust with icing sugar to serve.

And that’s it. I did leave mine in the oven fifteen minutes longer than the recipe called for because it wasn’t quite done.

I have made this cake three times and every time is has come out exactly the same. Delicious. The first time I made, I took half into the office. One of the girls said it was like an orgasm in her mouth, (you know who you are!)!

Need I say more….

raspberry bakewell cake

